Pome 8

June 27, 2011

Free Huey

In the deepness of a summer’s night
I was laughing at the stars so bright
With my hand outstretched towards the moon
In the deepness of a summer’s night

Though in winter rain gets in my shoes
And the cold wind creeps between the sheets
I blow bubbles on a lake of ice
In the deepness of a summer’s night

Golden apples fall like meteors of light
And the air is rich with earthworn flowers
Though its evening and I await my sleep
In the deepness of a summer’s night

Waters pour like nectar on the land
And the pages fade as faces do
And we fall as ones before the plow
In the deepness of a summer’s night


COB Spirit of Love

Clive Palmer, “Summer’s Night,” 1969
Song, natch, not pome, written just before the above LP and appears nowhere on internets; if lyrics be flubbed do comment.

One Response to “Pome 8”

  1. yogomush said

    On the album ‘Just Me’ the lyrics are simply : –

    In the deepness of a summer’s night
    I was laughing at the stars so bright
    With my hand outstretched towards the moon
    In the deepness of a summer’s night

    Though in winter rain gets in my shoe
    And a cold wind creeps between the sheets
    And the dark clouds hide me from the light
    In the deepness of the summer’s night

    In the deepness of a summer’s night
    I was laughing at the stars so bright
    With my hand outstretched towards the moon
    In the deepness of a summer’s night

    Accompanied on 5 string banjo tuned to Double C clawhammer (frailing) style.

Leave a Reply

